Arts Council Recognizes Applause Award Winners

Arts Council Recognizes Applause Award Winners

Awardees Honored at Annual Holiday Glitter Gala

LANSING, Dec. 2, 2015–The Arts Council of Greater Lansing is pleased to announce its 2015 Applause Award winners. This year’s recipients include Ingham County Board of Commissioners who received the Civic Leadership Award; Lansing Economic Area Partnership (LEAP) who received the Business Leadership Award; and John Loose who received the Ted Sondag Individual Leadership Award. Awards were also presented to MSU Arts and Cultural Management associate program director Tina Newhauser; Impression 5 Science Museum; REO Town Commercial Association and local glass artist Craig Mitchell Smith.

The honorees were recognized at the Arts Council’s 36th Annual Holiday Glitter event held on Dec. 2, 2015 at the University Club of MSU and each was presented with a beautiful handcrafted glass award created by Craig Mitchell Smith Glass.

“We are very excited to be presenting four new awards this year,” says Arts Council Executive Director Deborah E. Mikula. “Holiday Glitter is the perfect forum for honoring our awardees as it draws in patrons and guests from all across the community, so the award winners receive the widespread recognition they deserve.”

The growth in the awards program is reflective of the Arts Council’s membership base and its community partners; it provides an opportunity to acknowledge those who are engaging in creative endeavors and advocating for and supporting arts, culture and creativity in metro Lansing.

“We are proud to honor those individuals and businesses that make a difference in their communities through the arts,” Mikula says. “We are grateful for their dedication and their passion, as it is these things that keep artists and creativity at the forefront in strengthening and growing our cities and communities.”The Arts Council has presented its Applause Awards for the past 31 years. In 2014, after the passing of long-time Arts Council supporter Ted Sondag, the Arts Council renamed their longest standing award, the Individual Leadership Award to honor his memory and his generous contributions to the organization.