Arts Council Announces 2018 Applause Award Recipients

The Arts Council of Greater Lansing is pleased to announce its 2018 Applause Award winners. This year, six (6) awards were presented to the following recipients: Creative Community Award, Terry Terry; Business Leadership Award, Scott Gillespie Company; Arts and Cultural Organization Award, Capital City Film Festival; Arts Educator Award, Mark Mehaffey; Individual Artist Award, Ben Graham and the Ted Sondag Award, George Orban and Rae Ramsdell.

The Arts Council has presented its Applause Awards for the past 34 years. This year’s recipients were recognized at the Arts Council’s 39th Annual Holiday Glitter event, which was held on Dec. 4, 2018, at the University Club of MSU.  Each recipient was presented with a beautifully handcrafted award created by local artist, Dane Porter.

“Each year we honor a host of amazing and deserving awardees, and this year is no different,” said Arts Council executive director, Deborah E. Mikula. “Holiday Glitter is our annual celebration event and our only major fundraiser for the organization. We host patrons and guests from all across the region, which provides the perfect platform for honoringour Applause Award recipients and ensuring they receive the wide spread recognition they deserve.”

The Applause Awards program was created to acknowledge those community members who are engaging in creative endeavors and advocating for and supporting arts, culture and creativity in Greater Lansing.

“These individuals and businesses are working hard to make a difference in their communities through the arts,”Mikula says. “Our awardees are dedicated to the growth of our region as an arts and culture destination, and we are proud to honor them.”