Arts Council Announces 2013 Applause Award Winners


1208 Turner St., Lansing, MI 48906


Arts Council Recognizes Joan and Jerry Mattson and City Pulse for Leadership in the Arts


LANSING, Dec. 5, 2013–The Arts Council of Greater Lansing is pleased to announce its 2013 Arts Leadership Award winners Joan and Jerry Mattson and City Pulse. The honorees were recognized at the Arts Council’s 34th Annual Holiday Glitter event held on Dec. 3, 2013 at the University Club of MSU. Joan and Jerry Mattson were the recipients of this year’s Applause Award and City Pulse received the Business Arts Award.

Joan and Jerry Mattson were nominated by Katherine M. Hude of Hude Legal Services, PLLC who presented their award and spoke of their dedication and passion for the arts. Hude noted that the Mattson’s are “long-time devoted theatre goers and supporters of the arts who possess an unwavering passion for promoting and encouraging the Greater Lansing arts community.” Joan is a board member with the Friends of Theatre at Michigan State University and a member of the Peppermint Creek Theatre Company advisory board and is tireless in her pursuits for obtaining financial support and donors. Jerry serves on the board of the East Lansing Kiwanis Community Band, is founder of the East Lansing Orchard Street Pump House Association and a former board member of the Stormfield Theatre.                                                                            

Recognized as one of the Lansing area’s most committed arts publications, City Pulse was nominated by The Lansing Symphony Orchestra’s Courtney Millbrook who acknowledged, publisher, Berl Schwartz for his leadership, stating that the City Pulse is an “unwavering and ardent supporter of the arts, and their commitment to raising awareness for artists and arts organizations in Lansing is unparalleled.” Millbrook noted that City Pulse displays a “genuine interest and gives due diligence toward making the arts more accessible to our community, frequently devoting half of a weekly edition to arts coverage.”

Each of this year’s honorees was presented with a beautiful handcrafted glass award created by Arts Council member Craig Mitchell Smith. “Both award recipients model the Arts Council’s mission to lead, advocate for, and advance the arts in the capital region,” says Arts Council Executive Director Debbie Mikula. “Their dedication and leadership is exemplary and steadfast, and we cannot thank them enough for their commitment to the arts.”

Founded in 1965, the Arts Council of Greater Lansing is a non-profit organization whose mission is to lead, advocate for, and advance arts and culture in the capital region. For more information, visit